Skip

How To Know If A Subletting Offer Is A Scam?
January 25, 2008 11:23 PM   Subscribe

What's the best way to find out who owns an apartment in New York City? A relative of mine has been offered a sublet, but the circumstances seem very shady.

I think my relative (who will be completely new to the "big city") is being scammed. I don't think the "owner" of the apartment is truly the owner. How does one go about finding out who owns property in NYC in regard to apartments? The apartment is in a well-known building in a high-end Manhattan neighborhood, which most likely has celebrity residents, so I don't know if that complicates things. Any help would be appreciated, as my relative is a complete novice at things like this, and I don't have any experience with it either, and I'd like to be able to give good advice.
posted by anonymous to Grab Bag (7 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Go the New York City Register and look at the title.
posted by bigmusic at 11:45 PM on January 25, 2008

Sorry that link should have gone here.
posted by bigmusic at 11:47 PM on January 25, 2008

(I hope it goes without saying that your relative shouldn't hand over money or sign anything until actually seeing the place.)
posted by lorimer at 2:41 AM on January 26, 2008

You can also use ACRIS (middle of the page) to search by name as well as parcel.
posted by kimdog at 5:30 AM on January 26, 2008

If it's a co-op, it will require board approval, which in a way is a very good assurance that the deal is legit (of couse, the bastard can stage a mock board meeting).

If it's a condo, then maybe get in contact with the condo board president (or another ranking member), or at the very least, the building superintendent.
posted by sd at 5:40 AM on January 26, 2008