Skip

Low-carb tortillas in Washington DC?
January 18, 2008 9:13 AM   Subscribe

Where can I buy low-carb tortillas in Washington, DC? Pretty simple, just looking for Mission brand low-carb tortillas, in a DC grocery store. I have looked in Safeway & Giant, in Adams Morgan and Columbia Heights, but no luck. Anyone know?

I would even mail-order them if it came to it, though I don't know from where... there is just no other food with the same levels of fiber and deliciousness (lots of fiber, acceptable deliciousness). There are a couple other brands out there, but I have never liked them nearly as much, and they tend to be more expensive as well... I've been missing them ever since I moved here a few months ago, and then I remembered the magic of the hive mind!
posted by allen8219 to Food & Drink (21 answers total)

Did you try the Safeway on Columbia Road in Adams Morgan? I feel like I saw these there last Sunday.
posted by chickaboo at 9:17 AM on January 18, 2008

Chances are they all probably carry them, but the vendors seem to like to put them in totally obscure places. My local store has them on one end of the frozen food aisle (huh?). I've also seen them in other stores by the deli (more reasonable), in the produce section (I don't get that one), and by the premade pizza crusts. I've never seen them in the bread/tortilla section, I have no idea why.
posted by sanka at 9:20 AM on January 18, 2008

Mmm but now that I'm thinking about the low carb ones I looked at, I'm not sure they were Mission. Still, they have an enormous selection of tortillas. What about the grocery stores or bodegas on Mount Pleasant street?
posted by chickaboo at 9:42 AM on January 18, 2008

Whole Foods around 15th and P would be a good bet, though I can't be sure. I'll check it out for you at lunch time
posted by CAnneDC at 9:47 AM on January 18, 2008

Seconding Whole Foods...or possibly Trader Joe's
posted by nineRED at 10:00 AM on January 18, 2008