Join 3,438 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can't we all just get along?
December 16, 2007 9:48 AM   Subscribe

I'm looking for an external storage solution that will play nice with an XP Desktop and a Kubuntu laptop...preferably at the same time

I run a custom-built Windows XP rig that's a few years old now - certainly has plenty of USB2.0 slots but I'm not sure whether I have an eSATA connector or anything neat like that. My other machine is an HP nc4200 laptop running Kubuntu Gutsy. I'm a college student, so I do significant amounts of work on both, often on the laptop in the library, etc. This makes for a whole lot of emailing files to myself, and I'm really tired of that. Further, I really should have backup available anyway, since if I lost either PC's drive that would be a Very Bad Thing (tm). I think the time has come for some external storage.

Ideally, it would be really nice if I could keep the external drive sitting on my desk and connect both computers to it at once, but I have no idea how feasible this is. I don't necessarily need to read/write from both at the same time, but I'd like to avoid having to switch cables back and forth all over the place and end up using an external HD like a big glorified thumb drive. My concerns, then, are several:

1) Getting file systems to play nice between windows and Kubuntu
2) Hopefully being able to backup files from both machines to this drive on a fairly regular basis
3) Since I'm a slave to the university's computer policies, I'm unable to set up any sort of network within my room among my PCs