Join 3,494 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can I get my ticket reduced by going to court?
December 4, 2007 11:29 AM   Subscribe

I was ticketed for running a red light in Los Angeles. I'd like to go to court and plead no contest and ask for the fine to be reduced. Is this a good idea, or a waste of my time?

I know I ran the red light and I don't have plans to try to weasel my way into a "not guilty" verdict. I also know that showing up in court and hoping the officer won't show is pretty pointless. However, the fine is quite high--once traffic school is factored in, my guess is it'll be above $450. My husband is a graduate student, I'm a pastry chef, and to say we are not rolling in money is an understatement.

I want to go to court, acknowledge my mistake, explain my financial circumstances, and very nicely ask the judge to reduce the fine. Is this a common occurrence? Would it just make the judge angry that I've come to plead no contest and waste the court's time? For what it's worth, I have a completely clean record--no other accidents or tickets, and over 10 years of having a license. I have read other threads about getting out of tickets, but I know it varies from location to location. I'm most interested in hearing from people who have done similar things, or who have experience with the LA traffic court system. Thanks!
posted by Bella Sebastian to Law & Government (21 answers total)

I worked for the traffic division of the LA Superior Court about 4 years ago, so things may have changed since.

Many, many people ask the judge to reduce the fine because of financial hardships. You definitely should ask if the fine can be reduced. The judges will sometimes be sympathetic and do it if they like you. Be very contrite and deferential. If they refuse to reduce the fine , ask to be put on a payment plan (i.e., ~$20-50 a month--this can be negotiated). Judges will almost always agree to that.
posted by HotPatatta at 11:37 AM on December 4, 2007