<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

	<title>Comments on: An expensive lesson?</title>
	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson/</link>
	<description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post An expensive lesson?</description>
	<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:27:47 -0800</pubDate>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:27:47 -0800</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>

	<item>
		<title>Question: An expensive lesson?</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson</link>	
		<description>My scam detector is going off but... but just a glimmer of hope... Anybody here dealt with &quot;Electronics Marketing Limited&quot;? &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; I&apos;ve come into contact with a seller, based in the UK but I believe with ties to manufacturing in China. I&apos;ve had email corrospondance with him and if it wasn&apos;t for the EXTREMELY low prices on consumer hardware and the promise of free worldwide FedEx shipping I would believe that he was legit and on the up and up.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
They&apos;re a registered company in the UK for 20 years (reg number 02159548). I know this because I independantly looked up the reg number with the government. All valid and looking OK.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
They say they only accept Western Union money transfers... alarm bells ring here and I&apos;m very hesitant to wire cash.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
They&apos;re present on some classified sites around the web and on large e-commerce/business listings like alibaba, highdubai and businesspatrol.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
I just for the life of me can&apos;t find anybody to vouch for this company and secretly wish I&apos;ve found one of lifes great secrets :)&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Assuming this isn&apos;t a scam - how the hell can they offer those prices? Organised crime? Stolen merch? Any ideas to proving authenticity before finding out the hard way? Please don&apos;t snark me, I&apos;m tempted by the low-hanging fruit and will feel silly enough if this is a ripoff without HURF DURF SCAMBAIT</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:19:40 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>puddpunk</dc:creator>
		
			<category>scam</category>
		
			<category>electronics</category>
		
			<category>mobilephone</category>
		
			<category>uk</category>
		
			<category>china</category>
		
			<category>business</category>
		
			<category>e-business</category>
		
	</item> <item>
		<title>By: Steven C. Den Beste</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1130993</link>	
		<description>Let&apos;s see, that would be &quot;Electronics Marketing Limited&quot; &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.ecplaza.net/tradeleads/emarket247.html&quot;&gt;of Nigeria&lt;/a&gt;?&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
I don&apos;t think any legitimate company would use an email address on &quot;live.com&quot; for business correspondence. And some things I&apos;ve found online say that scammers prefer payment by Western Union because WU doesn&apos;t demand much in order to receive payment.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1130993</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:27:47 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steven C. Den Beste</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: parmanparman</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131002</link>	
		<description>I love this extras note at the bottom of their specs description for the Nokia N95:&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
&quot;- HS Code : 9507 Fishing Tackle; Fish Landing Nets, Butterfly Nets; Decoy &quot;birds&quot;&quot;</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131002</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:35:46 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>parmanparman</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: Steven C. Den Beste</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131021</link>	
		<description>You used to have a link to their ad, but it seems the mods removed it, so I can&apos;t confirm a suspicion I have.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Perhaps there is a legitimate company by that name, with a legitimate registration number. How do you know you&apos;re really dealing with someone from that company?</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131021</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 19:47:37 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Steven C. Den Beste</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: longsleeves</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131043</link>	
		<description>It sounds too good to be true.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131043</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 20:05:41 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>longsleeves</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: moift</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131078</link>	
		<description>&quot;Western Union only&quot; should be all you need to hear to know it&apos;s a scam.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131078</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 20:42:12 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>moift</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: Good Brain</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131081</link>	
		<description>Also, the shell of an existing company can be purchased and use to hold a new company, legit, or otherwise.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131081</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 20:43:53 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Good Brain</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: stereo</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131168</link>	
		<description>What Good Brain said. It&apos;s called a shelf company, because it is registered and shelved to be re-sold and used when it has matured.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131168</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 12 Nov 2007 22:57:43 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>stereo</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: krautland</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1131491</link>	
		<description>if it sounds too good to be true, it is too good to be true. &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
especially on the internet.&lt;br&gt;
especially it it involves money being wired to a foreign country.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
little reality check here: if this is a british company doing business in britain with a british reg number then &lt;i&gt;why the hell&lt;/i&gt; would they not accept payment via usual channels in britain? it&apos;s cheaper, faster and more convenient for them and you. &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
this reaks like a 300lbs man after a marathon.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1131491</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 13 Nov 2007 08:36:47 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>krautland</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: BeaverTerror</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/76108/An-expensive-lesson#1180176</link>	
		<description>If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2007:site.76108-1180176</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 26 Dec 2007 22:51:24 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>BeaverTerror</dc:creator>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
