.namefilter: A shady company seems to be squatting on a bunch of .name domains. What can I do about it?
While looking into the registration of a .name address, I found that my "lastname.name" domain has already been registered. A company called
NameNation.com is "selling the domain on behalf of the owner" for $288. NameNation appears to be both a .name domain registrar and a "broker" for sales of currently reserved .name domains.
I thought I might contact the actual owner of the domain to see if they'd consider letting me use a third-level domain (ie, myfirstname.lastname.name), so I poked around a bit and found that the actual owner is apparently using NameNation's private registration feature to hide their WHOIS information. I tried sending an email to the owner, through the private address at NameNation, but there was no response. There's a place on the NameNation site where the owner of a domain can log in - curious, I entered my lastname.name domain and hit the "I forgot my customer number" button. The site responded with "Validation error! Invalid customer." Hmm.
Here's what I think is happening - NameNation is cybersquatting on this domain. There is no actual owner using NameNation's private registration - the actual owner is NameNation itself (as evidenced by the fact that there doesn't seem to be an actual customer number corresponding to this domain). They're squatting on .name domains that they think might sell. I can't prove that, of course, because the private registration masks the real owner of the domain (if there indeed is one). But it makes sense, and I don't seem to be the only one
who thinks so. (That pettigrew domain, by the way, is currently for sale for $288, same as mine. Coincidence?)
While regrettable, this kind of chicanery is legal for most top level domains. But if I understand it right, the .name TLD is supposed to be
reserved for use by individuals. in particular individuals with the appropriate personal name. There's apparently a process - the
Eligibility Requirements Dispute Resolution Policy, or ERDRP - by which a .name registration can be challenged as ineligible (ie, registered in bad faith, by someone with no personal interest in the name itself). Problem is, there's a $1300 fee to even file a complaint through any of the ICANN-approved arbitrators. I can't afford that.
So (to summarize an already long post, sorry) - I think this company is squatting illegally (or at least unethically and without eligibility) on my .name domain and probably thousands of others, but there doesn't seem to be any way to challenge them short of filing a $1300 complaint, and since the cost to buy the domain name from them is much less, they're betting that most people who want the domain badly enough will pay the lesser fee. I really REALLY hate the idea of doing that though - if I had the money, I'd much rather file a complaint, since paying NameNation anything more than a standard registration fee only encourages them to continue ripping off other .name domain seekers.
Are there any other options for resolving this that I'm missing? Has anyone run into similar situations (particularly with .name TLDs), or with NameNation? Has anyone here gone through an ERDRP complaint process who can give me their thoughts on that process? Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Unfortunately, I don't think you have any real recourse other than emailing NameNation and perhaps offering a lower fee for the site. Or alternatively looking at one of the other TLDs for the site. Perhaps you could use one with last two letters of the name, like www.johnsmi.th?
posted by JonB at 2:10 AM on August 26, 2007