<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

	<title>Comments on: Is it a spambot or is it an ***hole?</title>
	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole/</link>
	<description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post Is it a spambot or is it an ***hole?</description>
	<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 13:59:43 -0800</pubDate>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 13:59:43 -0800</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>

	<item>
		<title>Question: Is it a spambot or is it an ***hole?</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole</link>	
		<description>Someone (or something) has been leaving comments on my site. Can someone help me determine whether it&apos;s a spambot? [More Inside] &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; He (it?) uses the name &quot;Shows On TV&quot; and links to a site of the same name. The comments are somewhat related to the relevant posts, but I suppose that could be automated. Anyone else seeing this?</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 11:27:21 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>timeistight</dc:creator>
		
			<category>websites</category>
		
			<category>spam</category>
		
			<category>spambots</category>
		
	</item> <item>
		<title>By: filmgeek</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole#138959</link>	
		<description>I&apos;ve had spamming problems with Movable type.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
I checked the blacklist software (that despams stuff)&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
http://www.jayallen.org/comment_spam/blacklist.txt&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
&lt;a title=&quot;MT-Blacklist/Comment Spam Clearinghouse/blacklist.txt&quot; href=&quot;http://www.jayallen.org/comment_spam/blacklist.txt&quot;&gt;MT-Blacklist/Comment Spam Clearinghouse/blacklist.txt&lt;/a&gt;&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
no sign of shows in any of the urls listed there.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877-138959</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 13:59:43 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>filmgeek</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: timeistight</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole#138965</link>	
		<description>Thanks filmgeek. I never thought to check that list.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877-138965</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 14:17:15 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>timeistight</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: seanyboy</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole#138985</link>	
		<description>A quick search of &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.google.com/search?q=showsontv&quot;&gt;google&lt;/a&gt; seems to imply that this person is using other peoples blogs to googlebomb his site. The site is even included in a couple of MT Blacklists. Given the small number of comments though, I don&apos;t think a spambot is doing this. I think it&apos;s just one person manually searching for film related blogs to add comments to.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877-138985</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 15:02:50 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>seanyboy</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: rhapsodie</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole#138991</link>	
		<description>A spambot would also make comments in random posts, no matter how old/archived/forgotten they are.  I have never noticed a spambot hitting posts on the front page of the few blogs I have.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877-138991</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 15:21:21 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>rhapsodie</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: fooljay</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/6877/Is-it-a-spambot-or-is-it-an-hole#139145</link>	
		<description>I agree with seanyboy, but it&apos;s definitely the comment spam M.O..&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Just for clarification, the Master Blacklist doesn&apos;t have every spammish domain known to bloggers.  In fact, it trails the leading edge by a good bit because I&apos;m careful not to put anything in it just on first report.  &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Old users will always have the leading edge blacklists because they just add to it when they de-spam from the notification email.  Only later do I get the spam reports which eventually make it to the blacklist so that new users can be equally protected.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.6877-139145</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Apr 2004 21:59:06 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>fooljay</dc:creator>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
