Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can a home be a luxury?
July 6, 2007 1:31 PM   Subscribe

Can a home be a luxury? I want to know if you think it [is/is not] so. A lot

I'm a college student, now entering my third year. For various reasons, my family has moved around every 2-3 years since I was born, oscillating between [East Asian country] and the US. For high school, I left [EAC] and went to boarding school for high school, switched schools after my first year, and lived in the dorms (moved out every nine months). I came to a prestigious college in a different city (NYC) than my high school was in, and am also living in the dorms.

For me, 'home' consists of a vague idea of shelter and comfort, somewhat disassociated with family, and very disassociated with location or country. I visit my parents a month a year, if I'm lucky -- a week a year, if I'm not. I have no other family outside [EAC] save for my older sister, who will be on the West Coast for the next seven+ years.

I'm finding that I am more and more desireful about the prospect of having a small home of my own in NYC. What bothers me about college dorms is that most of the students don't perceive their rooms as shelter or a home, but rather a temporary resting-point while they are away from home. For me, that's not true, and I'm tired of feeling nomadic and itinerant all the time. Last summer, I lived in a sublet in NYC, and it felt great, comfortable, relatively like a home, someplace to hunker down and cook for myself, sleep in late on weekends. However, I feel like getting an apartment is an overblown luxury, that I should suck it up, as the other students do, and stay in the dorms for the remaining years. After all, I have the rest of post-collegiate or post-academic life to not live in a dorm.