Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How do i change careers/positions within my company?
April 24, 2007 11:33 AM   Subscribe

Jobfilter: Im currently a network admin at my company. I have been with them a little over 1 1/2 years. Heres my dilema. I love the company i work for, they treat everyone great, there relatively small and everyone is sorta treated like family but the problem is i am completely burnt out at my position. I have been in the IT World for a little over 8 years and im soo sick of it and want to desperatley change careers but stay with the company. What is the best way to go about telling my boss this? I want him to know im not looking for another job or quitting but just want to change to a diffrent career/position within the company.
posted by flipmiester99 to Work & Money (10 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

A small company isn't going to be able to create a position to your specifications. But maybe you can wait for something to open up (whether it has a title currently or not--maybe you can spot a need) and then apply for it, using the explanation you just gave us.
posted by DU at 11:43 AM on April 24, 2007

I am in a similar boat to you, but perhaps a slightly larger company. We have around 150 employees where I work, and I am officially the Network Administrator, and only IT folk. I expressed to the CFO over lunch that I enjoyed the work, the people, the pay is reasonable enough for the area, but I was feeling almost like my job consisted of being the janitor of the computers. Running around fixing peoples mice and network jacks definately isn't the most glorious of jobs.