Join 3,497 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Help me find a good beginner's mandolin?
April 18, 2007 4:25 PM   Subscribe

Help me find a good beginner's mandolin?

I'm a guitarist who is interested in purchasing an inexpensive but decent mandolin to learn with. eBay regularly lists ludicrously cheap mandolins (<$100) but I'm wary of getting something that will literally fall to pieces after a short time. I've played some laughably cheap acoustic guitars. One I ended up putting a whole through because the laminate was so thin and cheap and I just wanted to see if I could do it without punching through (I could -- it went in the garbage). Another, bought for $99 at a pawn shop, ended up being my favorite guitar (it's a Yamaha FG series from the late seventies similar to the one Elliott Smith played for along time). So I know that price does not equal quality in all cases. So now that I'm thinking about buying a beginner's mandolin I'm uncertain about which brands to look at and consider. Any help would be appreciated.
posted by inoculatedcities to Media & Arts (15 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

From another guitar player I highly recommend "Mid-Missouri Mandolins", (sometimes called Mid-MO). They're now defunct, but if you can find one on eBay or elsewhere, (maybe one of the larger online retailers), go for it. Their motto was "No frills, no plywood". Solid instruments, well-made, no headstock in-lays (they actually wood-burn instead to save on costs). A+++, would buy again.
posted by monkeymadness at 4:37 PM on April 18, 2007

I had an AskMe a few weeks ago about buying a new guitar, and the best overall advice was to go out and play them.

Definately hit the pawn shops and local music shops.

As far as brands go Fender makes some really nice sounding and affordable mandolins. I almost picked one up at guitar center a couple of years ago for about $200, but my fingers were too big to make any chords.