Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Should I pursue a future in brain science?
February 20, 2007 12:57 PM   Subscribe

How can I decide if I should pursue my layman's interest in brain science?

Last year I graduated with honors from a respected university with a degree in childhood education and special education, and a minor in Spanish. It wasn't a great experience and I no longer want to be a teacher for a bunch of my own reasons.

Since graduating, I have developed a layman's interest in brain science, consciousness, neuropsychology, cognitive functioning, pharmacology, etc, and I've been wondering if this is something that I could or should turn into a career.

I have basically no official science background, and I took only a few courses in developmental psychology as part of my childhood education program.

I know that in order to make a career of this I'll need at least a master's degree (probably a PhD), but I also know that it's foolish to apply to grad school without a passion for a particular subject and a clear vision of what I want to get out of it. At the moment the neuropsychology program at Queens College looks intriguing, but I wouldn't be applying anywhere until Fall 08 the earliest. So my question is this - how can I decide if a future of scientific research will be right for me, and how can I determine what area to specialize in?

I was thinking along the lines of taking (community college?) night classes in neuroscience and experimental psychology. Or would I need a second bachelor's? Do you have any recommendations for books, blogs, or web sites that can give me some direction and help me decide if this is really what I want to do, as well as how to figure out what area to specialize in?

By the way, I am in NYC. Thanks a bunch for any insight you all may have!
posted by infinityjinx to Education (13 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite