Should I tell my grandparents I'm gay?
January 21, 2007 6:53 PM   Subscribe

Some background: I'm a sophomore in college, out of the closet at school since soon after I arrived and out at home, in varying stages, for 1-8 months. My close family is supportive and kind, and the members of my extended family who I've told have acted similarly.

I've got one grandparent still alive on each side of my family, both over 80; one has increasingly severe (but still early-stage) Alzheimer's, and one has annoying, undiagnosed adult ADD but is otherwise healthy. I don't really know how open- or liberal-minded they are; and while I assume they'd would be fine with me being gay, I really have no evidence to believe that. And I don't know if telling them is worth the risk of them possibly not approving. I've discussed this really briefly with my mom, and she couldn't tell me what to expect.

Do I have any moral obligation to tell them, as a part of my family and as someone I should be able to trust and be fully open with? (Does it matter that one of them is supporting my college education on the order of $4000 per semester?) Or is it just a kind gesture I should extend to them? Should I tell one grandparent and not the other? I don't even know if my grandfather would remember that I'm gay the next time I see him.

I hope I'm not missing something obvious here; it's not something I worry about very much, just a constant minor nagging at the back of my mind.
posted by the_arbiter to Human Relations (41 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

play it by ear I would think...
posted by Heywood Mogroot at 6:58 PM on January 21, 2007

If your grandparents are so old, and one wouldn't even remember, I guess I can't see any possible reason to explain this to them.

If they're over 80, is it a safe assumption that they'd at all be liberal enough to not freak out? Are they too old not to freak out? Are they open-minded and wouldn't care? If you're not sure, why's it really matter?