Skip

Help me consider the pros / cons of different cameras.
December 29, 2006 11:05 AM   Subscribe

Travel Photography Filter: Take the good, clunky camera or the less good, compact one?

I'm a college student who will be spending 14 weeks abroad this term (10 of them living in London, 4 roving around Europe).

My dad wants me to take his Nikon D-80 with me, but I'm concerned about its size, particularly during the "living abroad" portion of the trip (how well will that clunker travel to a nightclub, for example?), and also during the roving about portion of my trip, when I'll have to worry about it's steal-ability in and out of youth hostels and on trains.

I'm considering purchasing a far more compact (along the lines of, but not necessarily the Canon Powershot SD900) model that I can fit into a purse or daybag. My dad argues I'll be disappointed with the picture quality, which will never rival that of the D80. I'd like to get good pictures, but I'm not sure I agree with him that going compact will sacrifice that much quality.

Anyone have experience traveling with a camera the size of the D80? Would you lean one way or the other? Any aspects I'm failing to consider?
posted by irregardless to Travel & Transportation (24 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

the small one... i have a dslr and a point and shoot... which one do you nthink i want to bring out with me when i go out to the club? BUT if you enjoy going out specificallt to photograph, bring a DSLR
posted by joelf at 11:08 AM on December 29, 2006