Join 3,363 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

OpenOffice Saves in MSOffice Format -- So Is Buying MS Office Worth It?
February 23, 2004 12:54 AM   Subscribe

I've been thinking about plunking down the cash to buy a licensed copy of MS Office (or Office XP, or Office 2003, etc.) for my new laptop. Can anyone tell me why I shouldn't just run Openoffice instead? From what I've read, it appears that I can "save as" most MS formats with it. Any firsthand experience?
posted by trharlan to Computers & Internet (19 answers total)

I've been using openoffice for the last four months and i am quite satisfied with it. There are a few problems though - that i have learnt to live with i might ad.

1. Unless you run it in the background it takes a lot longer to load than MS-Office.
2. It just has a different feel to it than MS-O - not as slick. Although it has functioned without incident, I've had problems simply getting to trust it with my work.
3. The 'save as' function has worked fine - although it always warns that something may be lost when you save in MS-O format - so it always feels a little risky just saving in MS-O format - i always back up the file in openoffice format just to be sure, which is annoying to have to do.

The reasons for my continuing use of openoffice are:
The 'export to PDF' function that i use all the time and
The feel-good factor of using open source.
posted by FidelDonson at 1:29 AM on February 23, 2004

I've just gone back to OfficeXP for a few reasons.

OOo is slow to load. Feels memory intensive too.

OOo has bad dictionary support - it's US only and doesn't seem to be very inteligent.

OOo seems to really hate you copying in text from another source if you don't want it as a blockquote. Yes you can copy as raw text, but you shouldn't have to.

OOo's spreadsheet is pathetic compared to Excel.

The HTML editor made me laugh. Hard.