Join 3,418 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

My belly puzzles me.
December 15, 2006 2:46 PM   Subscribe

How come I get acid reflux from fatty foods, but not from dairy-based high-fat foods like ice cream and cheese and not from foods cooked in olive oil? What is my stomach doing differently?
posted by joannemerriam to Health & Fitness (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Ah, i got an answer for this one--I'm a first year med student; actually studying acid/base chem right now--and my prof gave out a chart the other day: foods having a neutral or nearly neutral effect include butter, corn oil, olive oil, milk, ice cream, honey, onions, sugar, syrups; foods with acidic effect--bacon, beef, bread, chicken, corn, crab, crackers, cranberries, eggs, fish, ham, lamb, liver, sausage (and in case you want to know: basic foods--apples and most other fruits, walnuts, broccoli and other vegetables).

Basically, milk is a lot of sugar and has proteins in them. Your greasy foods give you the fat But it all really depends on you--how you body works, etc.

All in all, there's multiple causes, and it just depends on how your body reacts, plus if you have any type of gastric hernia could cause overall reflux. .. .. .
posted by uncballzer at 4:31 PM on December 15, 2006 [1 favorite]

One potential cause is gallstones. I have a mild case and was getting really terrible acid reflux for awhile. Took Prilosec for a couple months and the problem went away, even though I haven't had the gall bladder removed. Strange stuff.
posted by Malor at 5:23 PM on December 15, 2006

Oops, I forgot to say.... it may be related to how much fat you take in, or how dense it is, or perhaps how much bile is required to digest a particular fat. Dairy fats may be easier than other kinds.
posted by Malor at 5:25 PM on December 15, 2006