Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How do I switch legal fields?
October 17, 2006 12:35 PM   Subscribe

I'm a lawyer who's practiced for five years; how do I start over in a brand new field of law? Corollary: I have no law firm experience - my legal experience is all with state government. Is it possible to start over as a first-year associate with a law firm? How?

Further explanation: I lost my position as a state government attorney in a mass layoff five months ago. I worked there for five years. Since then I've been looking for a job, but no bites yet. My field was totally uninteresting to me, and yet I don't seem qualified for jobs as a practicing lawyer outside my field. Ads for such jobs always require experience in a particular field that I don't have.

How can I start over as, say, a tax lawyer, or a mergers & acquisitions lawyer, or whatever?
posted by Tin Man to Work & Money (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I have no idea . . . but, why not call up a firm that practices the law you are interested in and tell them your situation. Get some ideas from them on how to proceed.
posted by Sassyfras at 12:41 PM on October 17, 2006

Sometimes people get an LLM in the new area of law.
posted by exogenous at 12:58 PM on October 17, 2006

Perhaps you could find an attorney you respect in the field you're hoping to get into and ask him if you could treat him to lunch at Chez Expensif to get his advice as to what to do in order to successfully transition into Field X?
posted by WCityMike at 1:15 PM on October 17, 2006

Perhaps you could find an attorney you respect in the field you're hoping to get into and ask him if you could treat him to lunch at Chez Expensif to get his advice as to what to do in order to successfully transition into Field X?