Exchange students?
October 9, 2006 1:59 PM   RSS feed for this thread Subscribe

Does anyone have actual experience with an organization called World Heritage? This is not the historic buildings and archaeological sites organization, but apparently a non-profit program for high school exchange students.

I have received email from them although I do not know how they obtained my edress, and wonder if they are legitimate. The subject is finding a home for an exchange student who is already in this country. Since I do not know them, and they do not know me, I really wonder about the safety of the student whose home would be solicited from strangers.
posted by Cranberry to education (6 comments total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
well, not sure if this will be helpful as i have no firsthand experience with this organisation, but a google search turns up their web page, which looks like it could be legit. also, united way has a page on them. so my guess is they might be legit, although the fact that these kids are already here and they don't have a place to stay does seem to raise a red flag.

if no one comes forward with terrible experiences with this organisation, i would say it appears legit enough that you could e-mail back and at least ask how they got your e-mail address. maybe some friend recommended you?

but then again, this is totally speculative on my part. ianaes.
posted by mosessis at 3:25 PM on October 9, 2006


A Whois query on world-heritage.org gives dmathuny at ASSE.COM as registrant email.
ASSE boats itself as "one of the oldest and largest international student exchange organizations". World-heritage mentions a close relationship with ASSE on its webpage.
posted by rom1 at 4:09 PM on October 9, 2006


World Heritage is listed with "Full" status on the Council on Standards in International Educational Trave (CSIET) list of recognized organizations. This is the list that the State Department looks at and means that World Heitage has at least met the industry standards for a legitimate exchange organizaation.
posted by Pollomacho at 6:41 PM on October 9, 2006


Wow, need that morning coffee, sorry for the spelling.
posted by Pollomacho at 6:42 PM on October 9, 2006


Seconding what Pollomacho says and adding that I've worked with them before. They are as legit as any other exchange program on CSIET.

If they operate like the similar organization that I worked for, they do background checks and references on potential host families as well as a home visit. Then once the student arrives, a lot of check-ins take place.

It is SO hard finding host families, so one has to attract the attention of strangers. I used to e-mail groups, churches, schools, scout masters... the list goes on and on and on and on.
posted by k8t at 7:46 PM on October 9, 2006


Thank you all for your input.
posted by Cranberry at 12:12 AM on October 10, 2006


« Older I'm looking for a simple, focu...   |   I am thinking about asking my ... Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments



Related Questions
I want to swap stuff April 12, 2008
I shortchanged myself in education November 21, 2007
The AP US History "Packet" November 12, 2007
I[t] went down, down, down and the flames went higher April 20, 2007
High school senior needs a real-world smackdown August 31, 2006