Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What's up with my forearm?
September 29, 2006 7:28 AM   Subscribe

Ow! What can I do about a pain I'm experiencing in my forearm assocated with weight lifting?

I work out regularly, focusing on lifting weights/strength training. The location of the pain is on a certain part of my forearm. If I were to hold my arm out straight with my knuckles towards the ceiling and my palm facing the ground, the pain is mostly felt on the outer part of my forearm. Or, put another way (though I'm sure this is obvious), I feel the pain on the inner part of my forearm (nearest to my body) when doing bicep curls (this is basically the exercise during which I feel the pain). The pain is at its height during the excerise and fades (but is still felt) shortly after.

This isn't soreness from not having worked out in a while (as seems to be the case in this question, as I've been working out regularly for roughly 4 months now. It occurs to me that another way to describe the pain is to compare it to shin splints (which I remember getting maybe 6 or 7 years ago when I ran a lot), though, of course, I have no idea if the same principle is present in this case; just feels kind of similar. I use gloves with wrist wraps and haven't really felt any of this pain until maybe a week or two ago. It was very minor at first and didn't faze me for a few days, but today the pain was very noticable and I didn't completely finish the bicep exercises I normally do because of it. Again, I'm really feeling almost exclusively while doing dumbell bicep curls.

So what do you think this is? How can I avoid it? And what can I do in the meantime to remedy the situation now and get back to my regular workout schedule without really injuring myself [further?] (schedule is usually 1 day: chest/tricep, 2nd day: bicep/back, 3rd day: legs/shoulders, 4th day: rest, rinse/repeat). Also, yes, I know a doctor's advice would be helpful here, but I'm asking MeFi anyway.