Skip

ipods / itunes best practices
September 23, 2006 9:09 AM   Subscribe

im about to undertake the task of organising my mp3 collection and would like to ask for advice / suggestions on what is the best approach to adopt with regards to organisation within harddisk / itunes / ipod

i want to set off on the right foot so im prepared to ditch the system i have so far which, at the minute all my music collection is within 2 folders on my win xp HD 'albums' and 'singles' and being played using winamp

all the albums are mp3 format and are labelled correctly, as are most of the singles.

so my question is what is the best way to get these tracks onto my ipod in an organised and usable way.i am new to itunes so im not sure if i shouldenable itunes to manage all music files by copying to the itunes folder ? should i bypass itunes and cust copy all the files as is onto the ipod ala an external hard disk ?

suggestions much appreciated
posted by toocan to Computers & Internet (24 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

iTunes, and indeed the iPod, ignores any folder structure that your music may be sorted by. Both iTunes and the iPod simply present you with a list of Genres, Artists, and Albums taken from the ID3 tags of your music.

The easiest solution is to turn on "Keep iTunes music folder organised" and "Copy files to iTunes music folder when adding to library" before telling iTunes to import all your files. It will then use an Artist - Album - Song structure on your disk.
posted by Mwongozi at 9:38 AM on September 23, 2006

I second Mwongozi on making it as automatic as possible. Itunes does a reasonable job of keeping everything in order -
if only it wasn't for that goddamn "Compilations" folder, that eats whole albums at random... arghhh.

oh, and while we're at it, does anyone know if Itunes 7 is any better than previous versions at handling (extremely) large numbers of songs, or does it still begin to choke upwards of 60 gigs or so?