Shotgun Speakers 101
September 6, 2006 10:34 AM   Subscribe

A friend of mine has told me about something called shotgun speakers and I'm fascinated. Basically, as her described them, they broadcast a sound in a very narrow beam so that only the target the speakers are pointed at will hear the sound. Is that true? How do they work? And more important, where can I get my hands on some? I'm a reality TV producer and I can think of dozens of applications. At least three of which may be ethical.
posted by rileyray3000 to Technology (20 answers total)

These guys seem to have what you are looking for, as do these ones.
posted by grimley at 10:37 AM on September 6, 2006

Sounds kind of like this, which is more of a weapon than a speaker.
posted by knave at 10:37 AM on September 6, 2006

Highly directional sound has been in use for a few years now in all sorts of advertising and point-of-purchase scenarios. Vending machines, for instance, which broadcast a pinpoint message, heard only by someone walking through a very limited circle.
posted by Thorzdad at 10:54 AM on September 6, 2006

it seems like joe pompei s the man to talk to you can find his homepage here actually as i look at it more in depth it just redirect to the link grimley provided. either way googiling joe pompei might yield more results, as i understand it he invented the technology.
posted by phil at 11:04 AM on September 6, 2006

If you really are a TV producer then you need to spend more time talking to your tech crew (sound, lighting, etc.), they should know all this stuff.
posted by Vindaloo at 11:35 AM on September 6, 2006 [1 favorite]

I'm going to point you to this article onDirectional Sound, and then unfortunately diverge onto a tangent.