Skip

How do I pitch ideas to a TV producer?
September 5, 2006 2:14 PM   Subscribe

Pitching to TV: I'm a writer and used to pitching ideas for magazines (mostly print) and then writing the story, sending the invoice, and getting paid. I have a great opportunity to pitch ideas for a TV show (on public television). The show is already in production and has money for next season lined up. Has anyone transitioned from print to TV? How do I charge money for this?

80% of the show is filmed locally (it's shown nationally), so most resources would also be local -- subjects, experts, real-life examples, etc. I already pull these together for printed stories.

I already know these guys from writing a story about their show. They offered me a job as I was interviewing them, but I want to keep freelancing, so it's still out there.

Any other suggestions re: putting my TV glasses on would also help. But I'm interested in how this process works.

Thoughts? Personal experiences, good or bad?
posted by mdiskin to Media & Arts (4 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I have some experience to offer, but don't know what to tell you without the specifics of what the TV people are expecting from you, and what kind of show it is. Are they expecting you to write and produce an entire episode of their show? (If so, this may be what they had in mind when they offered you a full-time job.) If you're just pitching them an idea that they will then go make a show out of, you're not offering them a lot -- since they will be doing most of the work.

TV writing is a whole different animal from print, and the production of a TV show is a lot more complicated and collaborative than the lone-wolf style of a freelance journalist. If they were offering you an entry-level job that comes with training in TV production, and you want to continue on in the business, then I'd jump on it.
posted by turducken at 5:20 PM on September 5, 2006