Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How easy is it to learn the banjo?
August 1, 2006 2:48 PM   Subscribe

How easy is it to learn to pay the banjo?

I have always desired to play an instrument - gave up piano lessons as a child and regret it. Someone told me the banjo is a good instrument to learn and easier than the guitar. True? Are banjos expensive? Would I need lessons?
posted by A189Nut to Education (26 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

My son is taking guitar lessons and his guitar teacher is also showing him how to play the banjo since we have an old banjo as well. From a absolute beginner's perspective, I'd say it's about the same as a guitar.
posted by GuyZero at 2:54 PM on August 1, 2006

No, it's easier, since a banjo only has four or five strings, in comparison to the guitar's six. Course, it depends on the type of playing -- there's the bluegrass finger-picking style, which uses the thumb and first two fingers of the right hand, typically played on five-string; and then there's simple chords, easily picked up from a book.
posted by Rash at 2:59 PM on August 1, 2006

In his entire first book of guitar exercises, my son has only used 3 guitar strings. So when I say it's about the same, this is from absolute zero. You don't start off using all the strings.
posted by GuyZero at 3:03 PM on August 1, 2006

I also say it's about the same. If you have an instrument already, there are many free online mini lessons, tutorials and chord charts.

Here is something I posted yesterday that was pretty much made possible by using chord charts and an AskMe thread about banjo styles (clawhammer etc.) Yea, I already play guitar, but I'm not very disciplined, I'm sure you'll kick butt!
posted by snsranch at 3:23 PM on August 1, 2006

GuyZero, I remember I used all 6 strings immediately when I began learning guitar from my teacher. Different teachers use different techniques.