Skip

Old Bad Credit Marks - How do they go away?
July 21, 2006 11:37 PM   Subscribe

I am trying to repair very old credit problems. I was a freelance designer for a few years and I had little to no money extra to pay some of the high bills I had. I'm trying to repair the old delinquencies - is this possible? (more inside)

I had a few months in 2004 where I could not afford to pay my bills - mostly credit card bills. I have a few accounts that have 120 day delinquencies reported in 2004, but since about the end fo that year, I have made on-time payments for 24 months or better. Is there anything I can do to get these accounts out of the "adverse account" section of my credit report and in better standing? Some of these accounts have even been paid off for a year or better.
posted by jimmyhutch to Work & Money (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Ok, I'm taking the "point you to the right forum and let you do your own legwork" approach.

creditnet.com

As I understand it, if the delinquencies are correctly reported, they're supposed to stay. If you can convince/threaten the reporting creditor to remove them as errors, then they can come off.

P.S.: 2004 is not "very old" in credit terms. Your last 2 years of on-time payments helps your score, but it is ultimately up to creditors to determine what kind of a risk you are, ya know?
posted by trevyn at 12:34 AM on July 22, 2006

god, it is SO FRUSTRATING to deal with this crap.
it's like there is NO WAY to remove two bad years of your life from the record.

Sorry. Just very bummed while immersed in research.
posted by jimmyhutch at 12:57 AM on July 22, 2006

"it's like there is NO WAY to remove two bad years of your life from the record."

In the US, basically, no. Not until the 7 years is up.
posted by Ethereal Bligh at 1:34 AM on July 22, 2006