Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Herpes + Marriage?
July 16, 2006 8:50 PM   Subscribe

Question for those of you who are married/committed where one partner has genital herpes: Is there a time frame after which you'd consider not using condoms?

My partner and I are getting married, and have talked about not using condoms after that, while keeping the Valtrex as suppressive therapy. Considering only the implications of herpes transmission, has anyone else ever considered/done this? What was your experience and/or how did you come to this decision? For questions or to share your personal experience, please write to you.love.hazel at gmail dot com. Thanks!
posted by anonymous to Health & Fitness (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I dont' have personal experience to share, but It's my understanding that condoms don't prevent the spread of herpes. I'm not a doctor. You should talk to one, but I'm not sure condoms will do anything for you anyway.

It can't hurt unless you're trying to get pregnant, but you're taking a risk every time you have genital contact, so if you want to lose the condoms, it's probably only marginally more risky. Again, I'm not a doctor, and you'd be a fool to pay any attention to some stranger on the internet.
posted by willnot at 9:19 PM on July 16, 2006

It's my understanding that condoms don't prevent the spread of herpes.

You're half right. They're not as effective against herpes as they are against other (i.e. fluid-borne) diseases. But even for herpes, they still reduce the risk of infection.

So Mr. and Mrs. Anonymous will be facing a significantly greater risk if they quit using condoms. It may be a risk they decide is worth it — I've never been in their shoes, so I won't comment on that — but it is a risk. Hence the question.
posted by nebulawindphone at 4:15 AM on July 17, 2006

Follow-up from a MeFite who would like to remain anonymous: