Tags:

elevator malfunction
July 16, 2006 5:58 AM   Subscribe

I am currently renting a home that has an installed elevator built by American Crescent, that spans three floors. It appears to be 'jammed'...

...and is not ascending or descending when asked. The elevator chamber closes off using a simple acordion style door, after which an external door closes. I've checked all three floors, all doors are closed. I'm able to jimmy the lock to peer into the shaft and cannot see any 'reset' buttons. I've confirmed that all the locks on each floor are engaged so it doesn't appear that the elvator is tricked into thinking there is an open connection somewhere keping it from operating. I've tried resetting the fuse at the box. I've checked the website and cannot find anything via Google on troubleshooting.

Any itinerant elevator mechanics out there with advice?
posted by docpops to Home & Garden (6 answers total)

I am not an elevator mechanic, but I have a friend who works for Otis ("good to the last drop") Elevator, and he is adamant that elevator work be left to the professionals. It is almost impossible to screw up an elevator in such a way as to make it fall, but there are numerous other safegaurds to prevent such things as the doors opening on an empty shaft (you may recall what happened to Dr. Drake Ramoray) or the elevator moving when it is not expected to (as happened to this poor guy). A Google on fatal elevator accidents will give you many more examples. As this is a potential safety issue, I would think the landlord is responsible for fixing it. And although I didn't think about your screen name before posting, I think you will see that doctors seem to be at increased risk.
posted by TedW at 6:53 AM on July 16, 2006

There is real wisdom in TedW's advice.