Join 3,430 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How do I come up with an hourly rate for a contract programming job?
June 29, 2006 8:37 AM   Subscribe

I need to come up with an hourly rate for a contract programming job, and have no idea where to start.

I was approached to do a contract programming job, and while I have a ton of programming experience, I have no experience with contract work. How do I approach the rate quote?

I'm happy to hear either specific answers as to how much I should charge/hour, or helpful tips like "this site is great for figuring out market rate"

some specifics-
  • Job involves Perl, Perl DBI, SQL, and some database design to parse and provide some intelligence to interpreting webserver logs
  • I have about 8 years experience as a Perl programmer, 5+ with everything other technology involved in the project
  • Job is with a startup e-commerce company, and I'm estimating the work could be completed in about 10-20 hours
  • I'm in the U.S., and so is the job
posted by mcstayinskool to Work & Money (12 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Take what you would make per hour if you were salaried. Multiply by 2.
posted by matildaben at 8:43 AM on June 29, 2006

This isn't programming specific, but this link shows how to figure your hourly contractual rate with regard to your necessary annual income and costs of independent contracting and supplies.
posted by superfem at 8:53 AM on June 29, 2006

Matildaben's suggestion is a good one.

Additionally, double your time estimate. I don't know anything about this project, but novice contractors (even ones who are experienced in their actual tasks) tend to be extraordinarily optimistic for a lot of reasons.

Give yourself time for that one problem that "shouldn't happen", time to cover client relations, and to deal with all the other associated tasks that you aren't used to.
posted by Tacos Are Pretty Great at 8:54 AM on June 29, 2006