Why cant I find a real job?
June 5, 2006 2:10 PM   Subscribe

I am 25, I have a good degree, I am charming and I am ready to get a career started. I live in DC but where are the jobs for me?

I am a recent college graduate (2005), good GPA, seemingly marketable skills (Mandarin Chinese, Computer litterate), with a seemingly interesting major (East Asian History). I have tried the typical routes of temping and trying to network online, but I am coming up with nothing good. My temping agency is sending me on increasingly crappy assignments and the only interview I have managed to get so far with a good company has resulted in nothing even though it seemed to go very well. I feel like I am at the end of my rope, this is very stressful for me and my girlfriend and I honestly feel like a loser becuase I am living with my incredibly patient parents and making no substantive money. I live in the Washington DC area, I am a very hard worker and I am pretty charming to boot. What I am doing wrong, and how do I get my foot in the door to a "real" job?
posted by BobbyDigital to Society & Culture (23 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I would suggest a start point would be what career? Do you have any sector/role in mind? Any long term ambitions?

If you're not sure of the above, what type of attributes are you looking for in a starting job?
posted by Mossy at 2:27 PM on June 5, 2006

You might try the other typical route of doing an internship in a field you're interested in, and using that experience as a springboard. Your incredibly patient parents will probably continue to be patient if you get a great internship somewhere that will get you into the field you really want to be in.

What kind of career do you want to have? That will make a huge difference.

Also, if you spelled "literate" that way on your resume, that could explain why you're not getting a job. Seriously.
posted by JekPorkins at 2:27 PM on June 5, 2006