Did I just fall for a phishing attempt?
May 25, 2006 2:44 AM
Subscribe
I spotted this housing post on Craigslist, and when I clicked on the link posted inside it, it sent me straight into the inbox of my Yahoo mail account. Was this a phishing attempt?
Because the Craigslist posting will inevitably be removed, the link "looked" (i.e. to the naked eye, without mousing over it) like this:
http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/roo/164188466.html
But when I held my mouse over it, I saw this:
http://mail.yahoo.com/config/login?/http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/roo/164188466.html
Unfortunately, I clicked on it without thinking. D'oh! I've deleted my Yahoo account, which I was barely using anyway.....but I'm still worried. Between the time that I clicked on it, and the time that I deleted my account, roughly 5-7 minutes passed. First I changed the password, but then my full-fledged paranoia kicked in and I went through Yahoo's procedure of making my account inactive. Could this person have seen or done anything involving my Yahoo account?
posted by Esther Festers to computers & internet (12 comments total)
posted by Esther Festers at 2:53 AM on May 25, 2006