Skip

How do I get what's coming to me?
April 12, 2006 11:39 AM   Subscribe

How do I gently ask/remind my boss about a bonus that was promised to me in my original job offer?

I have an email that states my salary, plus a bonus after 90 days of employment, so it's documented in writing. I haven't heard anything & it's been about 4 months since I've started. It's been a great position & I'm doing very well. Although I don't want to come off like "where's my money, dude?", That's pretty much what it is. I'd like to go about this professionaly, with very little discomfort. I'm not very good with being assertive with things like this. Is this something I should ask the office manager who cuts checks? Advice much appreciated.
posted by Alpenglow to Work & Money (24 answers total)

Schedule a meeting with him, make two copies of the email, sit down at a table, and say something like, "What do we need to do to get this going?"

He wouldn't hesitate to do the same with you if you missed a deadline, would he?
posted by jon_kill at 11:46 AM on April 12, 2006

Is there anything in your contract about job reviews? That would be a prime time to bring up the bonus.

Generally the office manager would need the go ahead from your boss / superviser to cut a check.
posted by Julnyes at 11:47 AM on April 12, 2006

Be direct, short and sweet, as casual as possible. Don't try to finesse. Ask your boss for a moment of his/her time and ask about the bonus. I would probably go with "My offer letter mentions a bonus after 90 days. Do you know the status of that?"

A best answer mark for me means I get 10% of the bonus.
posted by sexymofo at 11:52 AM on April 12, 2006

I'm not a great office politician but it seems to me that you don't want bring this up at a job review. It would be too easy for your boss to replace whatever perks you were going to get out of the job review with a bonus that she already owes you.
posted by rdr at 11:55 AM on April 12, 2006