Where to find Passover Coke in Northern Virginia?
April 9, 2006 7:56 PM Subscribe
Where can I find Passover Coke in Fairfax County, Virginia?
posted by cerebus19 to Food & Drink (10 answers total)
For those who don't know: Ashkenazic Jews can't eat or drink anything with corn (among many other things) during Passover. This means high fructose corn syrup, which is what Coke and most other sodas are sweetened with, is out. To accommodate them, every year Coke produces Coca-Cola Classic and Sprite that is kosher for Passover, by making it with sugar instead of corn syrup. You can tell which (two-liter) Coke is Passover Coke because it has a yellow cap with "OU-P" stamped on the top.
Not only is this Passover Coke acceptable for Ashkenazic Jews to drink--it also tastes much, much better (in most people's opinions) because it's not as sweet.
I live in Reston, Va., and work in Chantilly. I've checked most of the local grocery stores (and I'm checking Wegman's tomorrow), but with no luck so far. If you know of any place that stocks it or might stock it, please let me know.