Join 3,436 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Is alltunes safe?
March 31, 2006 4:11 AM   Subscribe

Is alltunes safe?

More here.
posted by fixedgear to Computers & Internet (25 answers total)

Safe in what way?
posted by cillit bang at 4:22 AM on March 31, 2006

Credit card payment concerns. Sorry, I thought that would be pretty clear.
posted by fixedgear at 4:34 AM on March 31, 2006

I have never had a problem with them - probably only put in £20 or so once so I wouldn't take it from me that they are "safe" - is anywhere though?
posted by twistedonion at 4:36 AM on March 31, 2006

You can use the Xrost option to pay. See this lifehacker comment.
posted by CunningLinguist at 4:42 AM on March 31, 2006

I've been using allofmp3 for at least 2 years now (I think they are the same people with a new name). I've used my credit card to refill my balance several times without the slightest problem. The allTunes browser application is head and shoulders above the old allofmp3 explorer, and I'm very excited to continue my shady Russian downloading with it.
posted by Rock Steady at 4:51 AM on March 31, 2006

I don't know about AllTunes, but AllOfMp3.com accepts PayPal, which should insulate you from any hacking.
posted by cillit bang at 4:52 AM on March 31, 2006

Clarification: Yes, alltunes is allofmp3 with a new name/interface. I couldn't see a way to fund the payment with PayPal which would give me an extra layer of protection. I put ten bucks in with a credit card.
posted by fixedgear at 4:56 AM on March 31, 2006

Alltunes is the iTunes-like version of allofmp3.com.
It's a separate browser/preview player/downloader for allofmp3.com.

Allofmp3 no longer takes Paypal either. Too many charge-backs and other problems.

Use your credit card. We all pay these jacked-up interest rates so that we can use fraud protection and contest charges when we need to.