<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

	<title>Comments on: Could it be any more Savage?</title>
	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage/</link>
	<description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post Could it be any more Savage?</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 14:32:52 -0800</pubDate>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 14:32:52 -0800</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>

	<item>
		<title>Question: Could it be any more Savage?</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage</link>	
		<description>What is the purpose of this website/blog?  (Beware pop-up ads) &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; I ran a search on the LS650 Savage motorcycle and found this site:&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
http://savagehre.blogspot.com/  &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
What is its purpose?  Is it feeding another site somehow?  Its obviously not of any use by itself/out of context.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 14:16:17 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>iurodivii</dc:creator>
		
			<category>website</category>
		
			<category>blog</category>
		
	</item> <item>
		<title>By: staggernation</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#548861</link>	
		<description>It&apos;s a &lt;a href=&quot;http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Splog&quot;&gt;spam blog&lt;/a&gt;. There are &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.google.com/search?hs=pV1&amp;hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;client=firefox-a&amp;rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&amp;q=%22read+through+the+comprehensive+*+information%22+site%3Ablogspot.com&amp;btnG=Search&quot;&gt; a bunch of similar ones&lt;/a&gt; on Blogspot. Where exactly this particular set of them is intended to drive traffic, I couldn&apos;t tell you.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-548861</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 14:32:52 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>staggernation</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: beaucoupkevin</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#548865</link>	
		<description>This is a spam blog, essentially designed to boost a particular site&apos;s google rankings with links to certain pages.  While the majority of articles are just, as you can see, pulled from news feeds, planted articles will use key terms to link to the target.  &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blog_spam can provide you with some insight into their methodology.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-548865</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 14:34:52 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>beaucoupkevin</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: andrew cooke</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#548927</link>	
		<description>i don&apos;t see any links to whatever it is supposed to be feeding.  maybe it&apos;s been &quot;neutralised&quot; in some way by google - perhaps they have some kind of automated procedure that tries to detect and delete such links?  but really i would have thought they&apos;d simply delete the blog.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
so it doesn&apos;t make sense to me either.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-548927</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 15:23:39 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>andrew cooke</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: Tuwa</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#548980</link>	
		<description>It&apos;s possible the spammer got part of the autoposting script wrong.  (Just a guess--I&apos;ve had spam come in with subjects like &quot;$MessageSubject&quot; or claiming to be from someone named &quot;[%from_name%]&quot;.)</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-548980</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 16:18:07 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Tuwa</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: null terminated</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#549146</link>	
		<description>Sometimes these are created to test google placement. If it works, multiple blogs with actual links can be created using the same techniques, supposedly bringing in more revenue.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-549146</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 28 Mar 2006 19:09:22 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>null terminated</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: fishbulb</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#549428</link>	
		<description>Yes, as everyone mentioned, it&apos;s a spam blog (or &apos;splog&apos; as some call em). If you encounter any of these on blogspot, you might want to &apos;Flag&apos; it (on the navbar in the upper-right), and the Blogger support team will take a look at it.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-549428</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 29 Mar 2006 02:31:42 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>fishbulb</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: helios</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/35257/Could-it-be-any-more-Savage#550038</link>	
		<description>I&apos;d say the fact that you found it (through whatever means you found it) and the fact that it has shown you (or tried to show you) pop-up ads means that it&apos;s already served its purpose for at least one person (you).    Extrapolate that to anyone who finds the site in the same manner as you and you&apos;ll see the profit potential.   This type of spam is an increasingly-annoying trend which often makes searching blogs nearly impossible (try searching blogsearch.google.com sometime).</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2006:site.35257-550038</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 29 Mar 2006 13:14:49 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>helios</dc:creator>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
