E-mails from my small business are slowly starting to get blocked by AOL, CompuServe, and now Comcast. It appears my ISP (WildBlue) has lots of IPs on some blacklists. What can I do?
Basic background: my business (scientific programming and consulting) is on a hosted server at Dreamhost. The setup is pretty simple. I use the PocoMail client. Outgoing messages go from my WildBlue business account (wildblue.com) via SMTP to my domain at Dreamhost, which sends the E-mail under my TLD (me@mycompany.com).
AOL and CompuServe troubles started intermittently in 2004. Now most addresses bounce with this error:
host mail.mx5.compuserve.com[149.174.40.183] said: 550 5.7.1 IP address denied-4 (in reply to MAIL FROM command)
Comcast problems started this week. Messages now bounce with this error:
host gateway-r.comcast.net[ 216.148.227.126] said: 550-208.97.132.5 blocked by ldap:ou=rblmx,dc=comcast,dc=net 550 Comcast does not support the direct connection to its mail servers from residential IPs. Your mail should be sent to comcast.net users through your ISP. Please contact your ISP or mail administrator for more information. (in reply to MAIL FROM command)
Source of trouble. The trouble appears to be my home WildBlue connection. Its IP (12.213.80.xx) appears as shown below. However I tried a bunch of random addresses by varying the last group (12.213.80.16, 12.213.80.142, etc) and get the same blocked results.
all.rbl.kropka.net http://all.rbl.kropka.net all.rbl.kropka.net LISTED
dnsbl.sorbs.net http://www.dnsbl.nl.sorbs.net/ dnsbl.sorbs.net LISTED - Aggregate zone (contains all DNS zones)
dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net http://www.dnsbl.nl.sorbs.net/ dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net LISTED - Dynamic IP Address ranges (NOT a Dial Up list!)
dynablock.njabl.org http://dynablock.njabl.org dynablock.njabl.org LISTED
ip.rbl.kropka.net http://ip.rbl.kropka.net ip.rbl.kropka.net LISTED
l1.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net http://l1.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net l1.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net LISTED
l2.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net http://l2.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net l2.spews.dnsbl.sorbs.net LISTED
spews.dnsbl.net.au http://spews.dnsbl.net.au spews.dnsbl.net.au LISTED
My SMTP server is probably not important, but is 208.97.132.5. According to
this blacklist compilation, there is no problem.
My workaround so far has been to use GMail.
Can you send a message to another address, and post the full headers?
In the short term, there is an easy workaround, which you may already be using. In Gmail, go to settings, then accounts. Add another e-mail address. Use whatever your primary business address is. Gmail will send a confirmation link to you. Click it.
Now that you've done that, you can use Gmail to send mail as yourself (from your business account), AND use Gmail as an outgoing SMTP server. Go back to Gmail, go to settings, click on Forwarding and POP. Read the instructions, and you will be able to relay your outgoing mail through Gmail, and it can look like it came from you.
This works better with an infrequently used Gmail account, as you have to authenticate (and usually download your Gmail messages) to send mail. But I've used this as a workaround for a few people with no problems.
posted by bh at 3:00 PM on March 22, 2006