Skip

Sleeping with the enemy
March 7, 2006 10:33 AM   Subscribe

How do you eliminate fleas in a bed? I'm under the vague impression that flea-killing products have limited to no success against the eggs (is this correct?), which hatch 3 weeks later, so what is Standard Proceedure? Put the matress in a plastic bag for a month with some flea product inside and sleep on the couch?

I have no experience with fleas. My reason for thinking there are fleas in the bed is that ever since my girlfriend let her cats sleep on the bed in the midst of a heatwave-induced flea epidemic last summer, I've periodically noticed insect bites in the mornings. Cats were banned from bedroom, but it's been months now and I still get bites. They're not going away on their own.

Any firsthand success stories?

Do flea bombs work for eggs in beds?

The bed has a duvet, any duvet-treatment tips? (I really wouldn't know where the fleas are, just that they're somewhere).
posted by -harlequin- to Home & Garden (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

When we had fleas we sprayed the bed, didn't work, so we flea bombed the room, didn't work, so then we poured borax on the bed and then flea bombed again. That worked.

After leaving it on a day I vacuumed the borax off the mattress.

(I also put borax into the washer with my bedding, and everything came out flea-free.)
posted by birdie birdington at 10:42 AM on March 7, 2006

I'd try the borax thing. Borax works fantastically against roaches, and is non-toxic for you. But if the borax thing doesn't work, try spraying your mattress with anti-head lice spray.
posted by Sara Anne at 10:47 AM on March 7, 2006

I whole-heartedly second the Borax recommendation, based on my own prior flea experience.

Flea eggs also last in their dormant state for a very, very long time, so use the Borax frequently don't be in any great rush to stop.
posted by CRM114 at 10:47 AM on March 7, 2006

Oh, and are you sure you don't have bedbugs?