Is this spam?
February 25, 2006 7:30 AM
Subscribe
I received an e-mail claiming to have found my ad on a personals site for people over 40 (I'm 27). Is this mistaken identity, or some clever new form of spam?
The message is as follows:
Hi there
Did you get my last email?
I saw your ad on Senior Friend Finder ,I liked what you said there, so I thought I would write.
I'm not used to this area yet,I am still discovering things here, hope I can discover a new friend as well. I just moved near Calhan from Denver area about a month ago andI must say I really like it here.
I'd like to meet more people, I don't know anybody, except for my roomate who moved here a while back. She's made some friends through the internet and she says there's a lot of nice and interesting people I might find here.
I will be getting my own computer soon, right now I am on my friends computer. Well, a little about me, I am generally a happy and passionate person. I am probably not the most domestic person you will meet, but I more than make up for it with my wit, knowledge, good looks, good taste, and, of course, incredible modesty.
My roomate Christine thought I should email you and she showed me how to send it but nowI can't figure out how to attach my picture here. My friend and my picture are at www. Choosing your friendly match.com where she put them. You can locate my number 3075774. If you'll think you are interested, you can call me on my cell phone tomorrow at 65255181I'd like to try something different to meet new people now. I want a man that is not afraid to express his emotions.
Any way we can talk and see what we have in common and possibly get together if it feels comfortable. Bye,
Janie
P.S.
So,I hope we'll get in touch soon
I don't know how long I can use this address till I get my connection so call me and let's see where it goes.
It could just be she mistyped the address, but a couple things about the message sent up some flags. First, there's the lack of an area code on the cell phone, then there's the way the address of the website was written, which seems to be designed to get past spam filters.
Then again, the post script discourages me from responding, so if this is spam, how is it verifying my address?
posted by solotoro to computers & internet (7 comments total)
posted by Atreides at 7:33 AM on February 25, 2006