Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Per-user link tracking for research
February 17, 2006 11:53 AM   Subscribe

I'm a web server admin and have a university faculty member that wants to do a research project that would involve recording (on a per-user basis) the links clicked on a web site they have created. Suggestions???

They are interested in seeing how deep people will "drill" into the information. I'm not sure if they want to have the user log-in first or just track unique visitors on a per user basis. If they have a log-in, I'm guessing that it would have to be cookie-based. They are after more than just totals of how many hits each page gets and want to break it down to a "per-user" experience. I have to believe that this has been done before and scripts are out there. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
posted by spock to Computers & Internet (10 answers total)

Yep, definietly done before. The basic way is to use cookeis, and this works great- unless the user doesn't allow cookies. Then you need to start re-writing urls to be custom per session.

Apache has modules to do this for you... see this article:

http://techrepublic.com.com/5100-1035-5136752.html#
posted by gus at 12:01 PM on February 17, 2006

google analytics might be a good place to start.

Scripts that really track a per-user session sort of thing all either cost money or kind of stink from what I have seen so far.
posted by twiggy at 12:02 PM on February 17, 2006

Google Analytics will do most of what you are asking.

You can actually create 'goal' pages, and it will track the paths that people take to get to them, and will tell you which pages are exited from most frequently.
posted by empath at 12:06 PM on February 17, 2006