I am a terrible musician. Help me be terrible on a new instrument.
November 13, 2017 3:00 PM   Subscribe

Do you have experience with electric cellos? What would you let someone know looking to purchase one? Any recommendations for a specific instrument?

I played upright bass for ten years and can noodle around on a guitar. I have always loved the cello and am looking for a way to learn the instrument and play along with recordings.

Because I know I will give up if I am filling the house with terrible playing, a silent/electric instrument is a must. I would like to spend under $500.
posted by munchingzombie to Shopping (6 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

enthusiastic amateur cellist here (five years experience, member of two orchestras).

1. get a teacher.
2. get a teacher.
3. get a teacher.
4. find a local string shop and rent a decent cello for a year to make sure you like it. that way, you'll have a year's worth of rent to put toward the purchase of an instrument if you decide to stick with it, and you can return it if you don't. you can also probably find a list of good local teachers at the string shop.

edited to add: looks like you're in portland! kerrviolins.com is who you want-- corner of SE Holgate and 28th. lovely folks used to beginners with a huge selection of instruments.
posted by hollisimo at 4:31 PM on November 13 [2 favorites]

another thought: the $500 price point in cellos will only get you a Cecilio-level instrument that will not be of the quality that will encourage you to continue playing. rent a decent instrument. you won't be sorry.
posted by hollisimo at 4:49 PM on November 13 [1 favorite]

As an alternative, consider an electric viola. Viola range is not as deep as a cello, but it does have some John Cale sonorities. If you're not traditional, get some cool guitar pedals too.
posted by ovvl at 6:46 PM on November 13