Training a machine learning/neural network on comic book images
November 13, 2017 11:05 AM   Subscribe

I have what seems like it should be a fairly straightfoward machine learning/image feature identification problem. I want to identify speech bubbles and captions in comic book pages. Am I out of my mind for thinking that this is something an amateur programmer can take a crack at, and if not, how should I approach it?

I’m a self-taught amateur programmer; the only time I write code is when I’m trying to automate some drudgery away, but I’ve got a pretty good understanding of basic programming and have written fairly involved scripts, well over 100 lines long, that do actually useful things in narrow contexts.

Something I spend a lot of time doing in my other life is drawing text boxes around unlettered speech bubbles in Adobe Indesign. It seems like figuring out what parts of an image are likely to be speech bubbles is the kind of thing modern machine learning/computer vision techniques should be pretty good at.

(For what it’s worth, The endpoint I’m trying to get to would be a tool that can take a directory full of images, process them, and generate an InDesign script that will automatically place text boxes in the appropriate places in the layout document.)

I’ve got access to a corpus of tens of thousands of pages. If necessary, I’m willing to spend some time cropping out examples of what speech bubbles & other recurring features look like, to facilitate training. But how, concretely, should I go about this? Are there particular frameworks or libraries I should use?

N.B.: The network can’t just guess whether a given image contains speech bubbles—it needs to be able to derive a bounding box or something similar anywhere it thinks it’s found a speech bubble.

Please help me automate my own job away, lol
posted by Sokka shot first to Computers & Internet (3 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite