Do I really need an electirican?
November 8, 2017 9:07 AM   Subscribe

I bought this light fixture at Lowes to replace one I already have. The box says it needs to be installed by a licensed electrician. I can't find an electrician to take the job. Can I hire a general handyperson?

My current light is fluorescent, and this one is an LED. I also want to replace the light switches with dimmer switches, which I've already purchased. I haven't yet tried every single electrician in the area, but I would really just like to get this taken care of. I've hired a general handyperson to install other light fixtures in the past. I just want to make sure there isn't a real reason they're saying I need an electrician for this one.
posted by FencingGal to Home & Garden (9 answers total)

I am not an expert but I have never heard of such a thing. I install stuff like this myself all the time.

If you would like to pay someone to do it, it seems like Lowes themselves might.
posted by RustyBrooks at 9:13 AM on November 8

When you say your current fixture is fluorescent, do you mean it is a fixture that takes fluorescent tubes with pins on the ends or do you mean it takes regular Edison screw bulbs and you currently have CFLs in it?

If the latter, it's very simple to DIY as long as you follow the correct safety precautions and follow any manufacturer's instructions. If the former, the light could be wired in a way that isn't immediately obvious to an amateur depending on its age, as it may have an integrated ballast or could have a separate one wired in between the switch and the fixture somewhere.
posted by wierdo at 9:20 AM on November 8 [1 favorite]

This really shouldn't be too difficult to install, however you say that this is controlled by multiple switches and you have bought multiple dimmers to replace them with. Two concerns there - are the dimmer switches the right type for the fixture load, and are they the right type for the multiple-switch circuit you have.