What are some great Clinton Hill / Fort Green restaurants?
September 12, 2017 1:02 PM   Subscribe

Brooklyn food filter: I'm pretty close to Pratt in Clinton Hill, and looking for a place to do my birthday dinner with friends. I'd like it to be walkable, so let's say within a mile. I like pretty much everything - so type isn't a concern - but I'd like for it to be a sit-down restaurant. Preferably not too fancy. 15 to 30 dollars a plate would be the ideal range. I'm new to the neighborhood, so I'm open to all kinds of suggestions - even if I don't use them for this meal, it will be nice to know in the future.
posted by codacorolla to Food & Drink (10 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

First thing that comes to mind in that price range is Black Iris. Middle Eastern pizzas, platters and small plates. BYOB as well.
posted by mustardayonnaise at 1:12 PM on September 12

How many people? Most of these are smaller places, so probably wouldn't want to try and bring more than 6 people, but call ahead and ask.

I like Karasu- it's a great creative Japanese place, good for sharing small plates, secret door in the back of Walters. Alternatively I also like Walters!

Speedy Romeo is a staple popular fancy-pizza spot.

Colonia Verde is a great Latin American spot.

One of my favorite all-time spots is Locanda Vini e Olii--Italian place inside an old pharmacy. You can order wine by the carafe and they only charge you for how much of it you drink. And the pasta is amazing.

Roman's has a rotating menu, and is part of the Andrew Tarlow empire (Diner, Marlow & Sons, etc).

I have not been to Metta or Miss Ada yet, but they are getting great reviews.

Welcome to the neighborhood! I've been here five years and you'll find it's the best place in Brooklyn. Lots of reasonably well-kept secrets, and not enough random people passing through the area to warrant long waits at the local spots.
posted by greta simone at 1:47 PM on September 12 [1 favorite]