No "pee-pees" or "hoohaws", please
September 2, 2017 10:34 PM   Subscribe

Please help me find an accurate and direct book for a toddler on where babies come from.

I'd like to get a book for my toddler on how babies are made (i.e. human reproduction) that doesn't use metaphor or analogies and uses real words for human anatomy. These books exist for pre-teens, and even for kids 5+, but they are too advanced in their writing style and have too much content for a toddler.

I'm a biologist and for the love of god, I just can't take these B.S. books for toddlers where mommy and daddy put together two pieces of a heart and baby pops out. My dream would be to find a DK book - but it looks like they made one and it is out of print. Assume that I'm dealing with a toddler who can handle the content (we're already 75% there), but needs it in short, sweet and direct sentences with some nice drawings. I'm shopping in the U.S., but would be willing to special order something from another country if it was really good.
posted by Toddles to Education (14 answers total) 14 users marked this as a favorite

Is "A Child is Born" by Lennart Nillson too advanced?
posted by stillmoving at 10:49 PM on September 2

where did I come from? is a classic.
posted by brujita at 10:50 PM on September 2 [6 favorites]

What Makes A Baby is accessible and inclusive.
posted by anya32 at 12:38 AM on September 3 [12 favorites]

I loved How Your Body Works as a child, it includes reproduction in a straightforward, if slightly surreal, way
posted by Heloise9 at 1:49 AM on September 3 [1 favorite]

Robie Harris's series is very well-done, detailed and frank. The one for the youngest kids is It's Not the Stork, and there are two more books for older kids and for teens, It's So Amazing, and It's Perfectly Normal.
posted by Orlop at 1:51 AM on September 3 [7 favorites]

Seconding What Makes a Baby - so terrific and inclusive of all families, if that's important to you.