Professional-looking shoes for a workday of biking and standing in lab
September 2, 2017 8:46 AM   Subscribe

I want a shoe that I can bike in (~2 hours per day), will tolerate light rain, is suitable for chemistry lab work, and is comfortable enough to stand in for most of a day. They also have to look professional and have woman's wide sizes (or men's sizes). I've read through a bunch of AskMeFi shoe threads, but nothing was quite right for my needs. Any recommendations? More details below.

I've been wearing Merrells for many years as my work-shoe, but I'm becoming disappointed with them (or maybe I'm just getting more picky). My most recent pair didn't last a month before it started looking ragged. I've also liked Clarks and Naturalizers at various points. I'm pretty hard on my shoes, so maybe there isn't a solution, but I'd love recommendations for a professional-looking shoe with some specific features:

1. Good for bicycling, which mostly means they need to be comfortable for activity but also requires no heel-slippage, and a firm enough sole that my pedals won't chew them up.
2. Are (somewhat) weather resistant. I'm talking biking through light rain or walking in salty snow slush. For downpours or snowstorms I have dedicated shoes (but don't want to wear them all day).
3. Protective uppers for chemistry lab work - this is not a special technical requirement, just that they need to be full-coverage and non-mesh.
4. Comfortable for 6+ hours of standing/walking per day
5. Professional looking - obviously subjective, but for my workplace something like these are ok, but these are not so good
6. Wide women's sizes, or men's shoes are ok if the style is appropriate
7. Ideally - long lasting, repairable (I've never had a shoe repaired so I don't know anything about what's required, but I like the idea of repairing instead of trashing & rebuying)
posted by chemicalsyntheticist to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (14 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite