Easiest way to learn German?
August 11, 2017 10:35 PM   Subscribe

What is the easiest and most constructive way to learn German? Would it be best to start with the prononucitations first, since they seem the most difficult to grapple with? Should one learn how to spell it first or speak it first? Is a tutor worth the financial investment and time? How long does it usually take to learn casual German? Thanks.
posted by RearWindow to Writing & Language (11 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

The best way to learn a language is 'all at once' instead of focussing on one element at a time.

I'm a languages teacher (although I teach Spanish, my colleagues teach German) and the way we start kids is with basics they can immediately put to use. For instance, hello, my name is, how are you.. then we add as we go. Numbers, colours, etc.

Duolingo is a fantastic tool to get you started, and there are lots of language teaching websites out there.

Consume as much German language media as you can- music, news, etc. It's important to learn pronunciation, but also the link between sound and the letters on the page.

It's probably easier to learn to consume (read, hear) a language than to produce (speak, write).
posted by freethefeet at 10:48 PM on August 11 [1 favorite]

German and English are.... well, very closely related. Many of the words and conjugations/tenses are similar (Trinken, Trank, Getrunken = Drink, Drank, get drunken (heh!) ). German gets tricky in the details and those can only really be learned by memorization.

You should be basically conversational in a few weeks or so, depending on how fast you can memorize vocabulary and noun/verb agreements and so on.

Pronunciations are easy. Speak german like a german person speaks english. There are some differences, but... they are easy. It's the verb tenses that will give the most fits - because it's a lot like english, except when its not, so you need to learn to suppress your instincts sometimes.