Pros and cons of therapist not covered by insurance!
August 9, 2017 10:01 AM   Subscribe

I am a graduate student and money is tight. I have been working with an amazing therapist who is outside of my insurance's network. I am trying to decide whether or not to pay out of pocket to continue with her. Perspectives, experiences, any number of cents welcomed!

Here is my preliminary pro/con list for paying out of pocket to continue with Amazing Therapist.

PRO:
1. Amaznig Therapist (henceforth AT) has helped me more in mere four sessions than all of my previous therapists combined (five total, trained in different schools). This is a combination of AT's personality "clicking" well with me, and the types of therapy she specializes in being exactly what I need. I contacted AT out of desperation, having given up on therapy (and maybe myself) altogether, and am very pleasantly surprised.

2. Private pay means I don't have to go to my family doctor and get a diagnosis and referral, and once again explain why I don't want to just use medication. I'd like to avoid a diagnosis is possible (although I don't know if there is already one in my file). AT's office is also completely off campus. I don't have to worry about running into my students or professors in the waiting room (this has happened before. It was not great).

3. I will admit that because I am paying, I take it more seriously. Oops.

CON:

1. Mainly, money. AT has a sliding scale and has generously let me pay the low end of her scale. But continuing would still mean a monthly expense that is roughly double my grocery bills-- i.e. quite substantial.