Best ingredients for plastic squeeze bottles that will last awhile?
July 8, 2017 4:02 PM   Subscribe

I bought a set of plastic squeeze bottles for the kitchen - what are some good oils or sauces that are handy to have around in them and won't spoil?

I'm somewhat new to cooking and above my stove I've used these bottles for olive oil and an a rosemary-infused oil. I have 3 more to spare - what should I use them for? I'd prefer more evergreen kinds of suggestions that I won't worry about ingredients going bad. I'd like to make chili oil, but have read it only lasts for a week or so.

Any other suggestions? I'm making all kinds of food so all suggestions are welcome, thanks!
posted by critzer to Food & Drink (15 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Maple syrup in a squeeze bottle (refrigerated) has prevented a lot of mess in my kitchen.
posted by MonkeyToes at 4:17 PM on July 8 [1 favorite]

Surprise answer: salt. These containers are PERFECT for salt! You'll fill it up, think it's weird, and then when you add salt to your food with it when cooking you'll think "why did I think this was weird?! It's brilliant!" You're welcome.
posted by sockermom at 4:21 PM on July 8 [10 favorites]

I'm a big believer in reducing pedestrian balsamic vinegars by half; letting it cool and having it in a squeeze bottle would be really handy. The vinegar is more syrupy and more intense when reduced. I keep meaning to do this with other vinegars but haven't gotten around to it.

I can't imagine why chili oil would only last a week unless you are using fresh chilis--try dry red pepper flakes as the infusion method?
posted by A Terrible Llama at 4:41 PM on July 8 [1 favorite]

The sichuan-esque oil from this recipe.

Boil your oils to avoid botulism.
posted by aramaic at 5:12 PM on July 8 [1 favorite]

@ A Terrible Llama: I'm not sure either, but every chili oil recipe seems to warn against this. Maybe just pepper flakes are safer?
posted by critzer at 5:48 PM on July 8