How do you deal when you're tired all the time?
June 19, 2017 11:44 AM   Subscribe

I'm a medical student doing my required clinical rotations. Like all of my classmates, I'm absolutely exhausted at the end of the afternoon. But somehow, I need to pull it together to study in the evenings. People who have had to work through situations like this, how do you do it? How do you make your brain work when you're tired all the time?

I'm getting 7 hours of sleep most nights, and I take a nap immediately upon arriving home mid afternoon (I'm about to nap right now). I'm also eating reasonably well and exercising regularly.
posted by ocherdraco to Health & Fitness (23 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite

I have found green tea a nice remedy for being tired at work. It has a lower caffeine content than coffee so you don't have that big crash later and you can sip it all day and it doesn't tear your guts up like coffee can.
posted by zzazazz at 11:48 AM on June 19 [3 favorites]

How long is that nap? Too short and it won't refresh you. Too long and you move past refreshed and end up even more tired.

For me, the best amount is 20-25 minutes and not a hair longer. I set my alarm. When the alarm goes off I feel super tired, not refreshed at all...but then within the next five to ten minutes of being awake my energy really returns.
posted by BlahLaLa at 11:57 AM on June 19 [5 favorites]

The science on caffeine naps is noncommittal at best, but they've worked for me in the past when I was working in the Middle East but had to work U.S. hours as well.
posted by Etrigan at 12:07 PM on June 19 [2 favorites]

Any chance you can do your studying in the early morning before you go on rotations?
posted by joan_holloway at 12:11 PM on June 19 [8 favorites]

What are you eating, and how much?