Help me BBQ!
June 18, 2017 6:30 AM   Subscribe

I'm a novice BBQ'er and planning to host my first BBQ next weekend. So can you give me your tips and advice for best BBQing and some easy and simple recipes, both for the BBQ and for sides? There will be some vegetarians in attendance so recipes to suit their needs also welcome. It's a charcoal BBQ.
posted by roolya_boolya to Food & Drink (20 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

I would advise getting one of these grill baskets. They look like another gimmick but they really aren't: they make it SO much easier to grill (marinated) eggplant, mushrooms and other veggies and actually get them all the way done, not burnt, and juicy and tasty. So much better and easier than sticking everything on skewers!
posted by Too-Ticky at 6:43 AM on June 18 [2 favorites]

Do you have a chimney starter (totally worth it). How to use.
posted by gudrun at 6:44 AM on June 18 [5 favorites]

"BBQ" is a term with regionally different meanings so I swear I'm not just being a pedantic barbecue snob: are you grilling (high direct heat, things like hamburgers and hotdogs), or preparing the cuisine of barbecue (low and slow, with smoke, whole cuts of meat)?

If the former, I suggest Serious Eats' recipes for the grill. If the latter (and some of the former too), Amazing Ribs.
posted by supercres at 6:44 AM on June 18 [9 favorites]

Super easy and tasty recipe that everyone gets really impressed at: Galbi! Korean short ribs
posted by astapasta24 at 6:46 AM on June 18

For example:
dice eggplant, zucchini and an onion; add sliced mushrooms. Toss with some apple cider vinegar, a generous splash of olive oil and a pressed clove of garlic; add some herbes de Provence and pepper. Throw it all in the grill basket and grill it on top of your BBQ. Enjoy!
posted by Too-Ticky at 6:46 AM on June 18 [1 favorite]

Halloumi kebabs are easy, veggie and work well on a BBQ .
posted by biffa at 7:19 AM on June 18 [1 favorite]