What keyboard/synth do I need?
June 1, 2017 8:59 AM   Subscribe

Probably the first of a few questions, but I'm thinking about getting some sort of keyboard/synth for me (home recording plonker), my kid (3yo, loves music, and I want her to have access to an actual instrument to start to kindle love of making music), and my wife (grew up taking piano lessons, and still pretty good). I don't know what ticks all of the boxes, and I'm not familiar with the options.

I don't know if I want one thing or two. I'm pretty confident that we'd have a devil of a time finding a place for a real piano in our house.

For me: I play guitar and bass mostly, but I studied piano a bit when I was younger and really enjoy reconnecting with it. I want an instrument that 1) I can record from easily, preferably via MIDI so I can edit on screen; 2) can be played live--not just a MIDI controller; 3) has a bunch of sampled voices, and 4) ideally can be used as a modeling synth. I currently amuse myself with an M-Audio 61 key MIDI controller (and a Maschine Mikro), but I want something more tactile. I want knobs to twist, not just menus or working with the computer. Filters, effects, arpeggiator, the whole nine yards. And the action has to be better than the M-Audio; playing that is a bear. It would be ideal if I'm not locked into an ecosystem like the Maschine (though it can just be a MIDI controller for other programs).

For kiddo: Kiddo obviously doesn't need all the bells and whistles I want. But I'd like her to have an experience like I did and my wife did growing up, where you could just sit down and play a piano for a few minutes whenever you wanted--fiddling with menus, or waiting for a keyboard amp to warm up or whatever is just annoying for a 3yo.

For wife: wife grew up with an upright, but hasn't played in 20 years. She'd like to get back to it at some point. She's suspicious of digital pianos. She'd be particularly sensitive to issues with the action.