Interviewing for a job you aren't qualified for
May 17, 2017 5:18 AM   Subscribe

I emailed a connection in my network about a job opportunity in his unit. I'm a part-time graduate student in a related program, but I'm only about a third of the way through the program. This connection replied, 'cc'ing the hiring manager, who then asked to set up a time to speak with me. The problem is, I'm not really qualified for this job. How do I respond?

The job posting is asking for a related degree (I don't have one yet, but am on my way towards acquiring it) and 6-8 years of related experience (which I do not have). I have experience in the same environment (healthcare) but in a totally different functional area (going from administrative to technical/analytical). I'm trying to get my foot in the door as I make a career change into this new area, using my related graduate work as the launchpad.

Without being too presumptuous, I think the job is something I could handle, as I tend to pick up work-related and technical skills very quickly. In fact, getting bored easily is the primary reason I am excited about this job--it seems to present numerous opportunities for learning and growing into my future career.

Should I tell the hiring manager upfront (before setting up time to speak with him) about my lack of related experience, or set up the meeting and edge into it once I'm there? I assume he will look at my LinkedIn profile and/or ask the connection about my experience level, but I don't want to come off as concealing the truth. If it matters, I am female, early 30s, and currently working at a job that is way, way below my skill level and paying me easily $20K below my actual market value (so self confidence is probably something I could practice).
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (13 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite