Metaphors for non-dinosaur designers
March 20, 2017 7:30 PM   Subscribe

I need help coming up with alternatives to a metaphor that no one understands -- specifically, how to teach engineers about the values of an iterative design process.

I am a computer science professor, and I often teach students about human-computer interaction and the user-centered design process. One of the concepts that I find many of my students struggle with is the notion of designing things iteratively, and, specifically in the context of HCI, how to iteratively develop and refine an interactive prototype.

My students do know about the waterfall software development model vs. iterative models, but don't always follow it. In talking through this problem with a grad student, I came upon a metaphor for what the process should look like: that of progressive vs. non-progressive JPEGs on the early internet. In the former case, the overall structure of the system is laid out in a very rough form, and the details are filled in as time and bandwidth allow. In the latter case, the full picture does not appear until the very last moment.

I like this metaphor because it clearly lays out the tradeoffs between these two approaches to doing work, but in a context outside of design -- the benefits of the iterative approach are clear to anyone who is familiar with the concepts. However, none of my undergraduate or graduate students are old enough to remember when the internet was slow, so the point is somewhat lost.